Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Japan Society Book Club: Now You’re One of Us by Asa Nonami

14 September 2015 — 7:00 pm

Now you're one of us

Monday 14 September 2015                                                               7.00pm

The Japan Society
13 / 14 Cornwall Terrace
London NW1 4QP

Free for Japan Society Members
Book online here

The Japanese original can be purchased here
The English translation is available from Abe BooksBook Depository and Amazon

In the tradition of Ira Levin’s Rosemary’s Baby, Now You’re One of Us is a new classic about the bride who’s no longer sure what to think. All families have their own rituals, secrets, and credos, like a miniature religious cult; these quirks may elicit the mirth or mild alarm of guests, but the matter is rather more serious if you’re marrying into a household. In this case, some surprising truths lurk around the corner.

The book club is held every month. There is no restriction on the nationality of the authors read, but books should be available in translation in both Japanese and English. The discussion is conducted mainly in English, but you can choose the language in which you read the book. The intention is simple: to explore the themes of the book, express personal opinions on the style and content, discuss how the book has changed (or not) in translation and to have a relaxed discussion with others who have similar interests.

Asa Nonami (乃南アサ Nonami Asa, 1960) uses the mystery genre to write stories that probe deep into the human heart. One day she happened to come across an invitation for submissions to the Japan Mystery and Suspense Grand Prize, sent in her maiden work, and soon became the inaugural winner of the event. The respective winners in the two following years, incidentally, were Miyuki Miyabe and Kaoru Takamura.

To reserve your place, please call the Japan Society office on 020 3075 1996 or email events@japansociety.org.uk or submit the online booking form.

 

Details

Date:
14 September 2015
Time:
7:00 pm
Event Category:
  • Upcoming Events

    « June 2019 » loading...
    Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    7
    8
    9
    10
    11
    12
    13
    14
    15
    16
    17
    18
    19
    20
    21
    22
    23
    24
    25
    26
    27
    28
    29
    30
  • Contact

    Email Us

    Tel: 020 7935 0475

    The Japan Society
    13/14 Cornwall Terrace
    London NW1 4QP