The Japan Society
Publications Books & Journals

The Japan Society Review

The Japan Society Review is published on a bimonthly basis, both online and printed (members are entitled to receive a copy by post). Since the starting of the publication in 2006, each issue covers a selection of Japan-related books and films, as well as theatre and stage productions, tv series and exhibitions. Its purpose is to inform, entertain and encourage readers to explore the works for themselves.

The Japan Society Review is possible thanks to the work of volunteers who dedicated their time and expertise to help us to promote the learning and understanding of Japanese culture and society.

Issue 86 (April 2020, Volume 15, Number 2)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 86 (April 2020, Volume 15, Number 2)

This issue of The Japan Society Review hopes to bring some of that beauty also into your homes featuring the review and some astonishing images of the exhibition Kimono: Kyoto to Catwalk opened at the Victorian & Albert Museum in London last February.

Issue 85 (February 2020, Volume 15, Number 1)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 85 (February 2020, Volume 15, Number 1)

Welcome to the first issue of The Japan Society Review in 2020. We start our 15th year of publication with renewed energy and commitment to advance the knowledge and understanding of Japan. In this period of crisis and uncertainty, we invite you to discover new aspects of Japanese culture from the safety of your home.

Issue 84 (December 2019, Volume 14, Number 6)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 84 (December 2019, Volume 14, Number 6)

The last issue of The Japan Society Review in 2019 includes reviews of five books which, in one way or another, explore the interactions and encounters of Japan and Japanese culture with the rest of the world. In Quaint, Exquisite: Victorian Aesthetics and the Idea of Japan Grace E. Lavery explores how Japan captured the Victorian imagination [...]

Issue 83 (October 2019, Volume 14, Number 5)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 83 (October 2019, Volume 14, Number 5)

For the October issue of The Japan Society Review we have selected a mixture of books that illuminate different aspects of modern Japan. The opening review focuses on the catalogue of the exhibition Conflicts of Interest: Art and War in Modern Japan held at the Saint Louis Art Museum, October 2016 to January 2017.

Issue 82 (August 2019, Volume 14, Number 4)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 82 (August 2019, Volume 14, Number 4)

On 1 May 2019, Prince Naruhito ascended the throne as the 126th Emperor of Japan beginning the Reiwa era. The first Japanese emperor who studied outside Japan, he attended University of Oxford between 1983 and 1985 (his memoirs of those years were translated into English by Sir Hugh Cortazzi as The Thames and I (reprinted 2019)).

Issue 81 (June 2019, Volume 14, Number 3)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 81 (June 2019, Volume 14, Number 3)

Our June issue covers the impressive Citi exhibition Manga マンガ at the British Museum, along with The Penguin Book of Japanese Short Stories, two novels by Japanese women writers Kanai Mieko and Nakajima Kyoko and finally, the academic study Electrified Voices: How the Telephone, Phonograph, and Radio Shaped Modern Japan, 1868-1945.

Issue 80 (April 2019, Volume 14, Number 2)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 80 (April 2019, Volume 14, Number 2)

This issue of The Japan Society Review opens with a review of the catalogue of an exhibition held at the Metropolitan Museum in New York in recognition of the one thousandth anniversary of the publication of The Tale of Genji. Both the catalogue and the exhibition illuminates the importance of Genji in Japanese visual culture.

Issue 79 (February 2019, Volume 14, Number 1)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 79 (February 2019, Volume 14, Number 1)

Welcome to the first issue of The Japan Society Review in 2019. Thanks to our team of dedicated reviewers, we again hope to bring you details of the latest and most interesting publications, films and events related to Japan. As in previous issues, we will maintain a balance between academic, non-fiction publications and works of popular culture.

Issue 78 (December 2018, Volume 13, Number 6)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 78 (December 2018, Volume 13, Number 6)

Our last issue of 2018 focuses on international relations, Japanese linguistics, art and pop culture. We also present a review of an unusual travel book and finish with a look at the award-winning movie Shoplifters.

Issue 77 (October 2018, Volume 13, Number 5)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 77 (October 2018, Volume 13, Number 5)

In this issue, the Review concentrates on Japanese literature, cinema and food aiming to also cover the wide-ranging interests of our readers.