The Japan Society
Publications Books & Journals

The Japan Society Review

The Japan Society Review is published on a bimonthly basis, both online and printed (members are entitled to receive a copy by post). Since the starting of the publication in 2006, each issue covers a selection of Japan-related books and films, as well as theatre and stage productions, tv series and exhibitions. Its purpose is to inform, entertain and encourage readers to explore the works for themselves.

The Japan Society Review is possible thanks to the work of volunteers who dedicated their time and expertise to help us to promote the learning and understanding of Japanese culture and society.

Issue 91 (February 2021, Volume 16, Number 1)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 91 (February 2021, Volume 16, Number 1)

A new year has begun, and with this issue of The Japan Society Review in February 2021 we start the 16th year of our publication. We hope so far our readers have enjoyed discovering new books, films and events and learning about Japan. None of this would have been possible without our fantastic reviewers so we want to open this issue with a big thank you to all of them for their help.

Issue 90 (December 2020, Volume 15, Number 6)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 90 (December 2020, Volume 15, Number 6)

Welcome to the final issue of The Japan Society Review in 2020. This has been a strange and difficult year, but we hope our publication has accompanied you during these uncertain times offering new opportunities to discover, read and learn about Japan.

Issue 89 (October 2020, Volume 15, Number 5)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 89 (October 2020, Volume 15, Number 5)

The aim of The Japan Society Review is to inform, entertain and encourage readers to explore the Japan-related works reviewed in its pages. With many events in the UK being held online, or postponed due to the current pandemic, this October issue concentrates on books, but nevertheless the scope of our publication is once again as diverse as always.

Issue 88 (August 2020, Volume 15, Number 4)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 88 (August 2020, Volume 15, Number 4)

Welcome to a new issue of The Japan Society Review. We present here a small selection of thoughtful reviews and reading suggestions to accompany readers into the autumn season.

Issue 87 (April 2020, Volume 15, Number 3)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 87 (April 2020, Volume 15, Number 3)

Politics, History and International Relations are front and centre in this June issue of The Japan Society Review which includes reviews of three recently published volumes on these topics.

Issue 86 (April 2020, Volume 15, Number 2)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 86 (April 2020, Volume 15, Number 2)

This issue of The Japan Society Review hopes to bring some of that beauty also into your homes featuring the review and some astonishing images of the exhibition Kimono: Kyoto to Catwalk opened at the Victorian & Albert Museum in London last February.

Issue 85 (February 2020, Volume 15, Number 1)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 85 (February 2020, Volume 15, Number 1)

Welcome to the first issue of The Japan Society Review in 2020. We start our 15th year of publication with renewed energy and commitment to advance the knowledge and understanding of Japan. In this period of crisis and uncertainty, we invite you to discover new aspects of Japanese culture from the safety of your home.

Issue 84 (December 2019, Volume 14, Number 6)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 84 (December 2019, Volume 14, Number 6)

The last issue of The Japan Society Review in 2019 includes reviews of five books which, in one way or another, explore the interactions and encounters of Japan and Japanese culture with the rest of the world. In Quaint, Exquisite: Victorian Aesthetics and the Idea of Japan Grace E. Lavery explores how Japan captured the Victorian imagination [...]

Issue 83 (October 2019, Volume 14, Number 5)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 83 (October 2019, Volume 14, Number 5)

For the October issue of The Japan Society Review we have selected a mixture of books that illuminate different aspects of modern Japan. The opening review focuses on the catalogue of the exhibition Conflicts of Interest: Art and War in Modern Japan held at the Saint Louis Art Museum, October 2016 to January 2017.

Issue 82 (August 2019, Volume 14, Number 4)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 82 (August 2019, Volume 14, Number 4)

On 1 May 2019, Prince Naruhito ascended the throne as the 126th Emperor of Japan beginning the Reiwa era. The first Japanese emperor who studied outside Japan, he attended University of Oxford between 1983 and 1985 (his memoirs of those years were translated into English by Sir Hugh Cortazzi as The Thames and I (reprinted 2019)).