The Japan Society
Publications Books & Journals

The Japan Society Review

The Japan Society Review is published on a bimonthly basis, both online and printed (members are entitled to receive a copy by post). Since the starting of the publication in 2006, each issue covers a selection of Japan-related books and films, as well as theatre and stage productions, tv series and exhibitions. Its purpose is to inform, entertain and encourage readers to explore the works for themselves.

The Japan Society Review is possible thanks to the work of volunteers who dedicated their time and expertise to help us to promote the learning and understanding of Japanese culture and society.

Issue 99 (June 2022, Volume 17, Number 3)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 99 (June 2022, Volume 17, Number 3)

The June issue of The Japan Society Review reaches you more eclectic than ever, featuring reviews of books on Japanese design and mythology, literary fiction, and contemporary dance.

Issue 98 (April 2022, Volume 17, Number 2)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 98 (April 2022, Volume 17, Number 2)

Welcome to the April issue of The Japan Society Review! We are very pleased to present reviews of four books and one Netflix series showcasing different aspects and stories from and about Japan.

Issue 97 (February 2022, Volume 17, Number 1)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 97 (February 2022, Volume 17, Number 1)

This issue of The Japan Society Review marks the opening of an exciting new year of Japan-related books, films and events. In 2022 this publication will reach a landmark 100 issues, an inspiring moment in our ongoing mission to celebrate the vibrancy and variety of Japanese culture, history, politics and much more.

Issue 96 (December 2021, Volume 16, Number 6)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 96 (December 2021, Volume 16, Number 6)

The last issue of The Japan Society Review in 2021 presents six reviews of books which focus on different aspects of Japan, from its history to anthropology and textile design.

Issue 95 (October 2021, Volume 16, Number 5)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 95 (October 2021, Volume 16, Number 5)

Welcome to another exciting issue of The Japan Society Review bringing you five reviews of books, stage productions and films about Japan. This October issue is more eclectic than ever and we are thankful to our reviewers for their time and expertise.

Issue 94 (August 2021, Volume 16, Number 4)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 94 (August 2021, Volume 16, Number 4)

The August issue of The Japan Society Review presents five reviews that cover a diverse spread of media and topics related to Japan. The opening review explores a two-volume academic work focusing on public diplomacy, human rights, and modern slavery in Japan and the US.

Issue 93 (June 2021, Volume 16, Number 3)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 93 (June 2021, Volume 16, Number 3)

The opening review of our June issue explores the fascinating life and career of Herbert Ponting, the photographer on Captain Robert Falcon Scott’s Terra Nova expedition to the South Pole.

Issue 92 (April 2021, Volume 16, Number 2)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 92 (April 2021, Volume 16, Number 2)

With five reviews covering a wide range of topics and styles, from an academic monograph to memoirs, fiction, and an art book, the April issue of The Japan Society Review offers an excellent example of the rich variety of Japan-related publications regularly arriving in the UK.

Issue 91 (February 2021, Volume 16, Number 1)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 91 (February 2021, Volume 16, Number 1)

A new year has begun, and with this issue of The Japan Society Review in February 2021 we start the 16th year of our publication. We hope so far our readers have enjoyed discovering new books, films and events and learning about Japan. None of this would have been possible without our fantastic reviewers so we want to open this issue with a big thank you to all of them for their help.

Issue 90 (December 2020, Volume 15, Number 6)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 90 (December 2020, Volume 15, Number 6)

Welcome to the final issue of The Japan Society Review in 2020. This has been a strange and difficult year, but we hope our publication has accompanied you during these uncertain times offering new opportunities to discover, read and learn about Japan.