The Japan Society
Publications Books & Journals

The Japan Society Review

The Japan Society Review is published on a bimonthly basis, both online and printed (members are entitled to receive a copy by post). Since the starting of the publication in 2006, each issue covers a selection of Japan-related books and films, as well as theatre and stage productions, tv series and exhibitions. Its purpose is to inform, entertain and encourage readers to explore the works for themselves.

The Japan Society Review is possible thanks to the work of volunteers who dedicated their time and expertise to help us to promote the learning and understanding of Japanese culture and society.

Issue 47 (October 2013, Volume 8, Number 5)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 47 (October 2013, Volume 8, Number 5)

October’s issue is themed around family and our reviewers explore recent books and films that deal with familial relationships; their joys, troubles and complications.

Issue 46 (August 2013, Volume 8, Number 4)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 46 (August 2013, Volume 8, Number 4)

In this sumptuous issue we alter our trajectory a little by adding some new dimensions to our review offerings.

Issue 45 (June 2013, Volume 8, Number 3)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 45 (June 2013, Volume 8, Number 3)

This issue focuses on a selection of Japanese writers in translation, from the current poster-boy of Japanese fiction, Haruki Murakami, to the rarely translated historical novelist, Shiba Ryōtarō.

Issue 44 (April 2013, Volume 8, Number 2)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 44 (April 2013, Volume 8, Number 2)

In this issue we remember and mark the second anniversary of Great East Japan Earthquake (東日本大震災) which occurred on Friday 11 March 2011.

Issue 43 (February 2013, Volume 8, Number 1)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 43 (February 2013, Volume 8, Number 1)

The ties between the Japanese and British archipelagoes form the heart of this issue’s reviews, with articles on new performances and retrospectives linking the history of the two island nations.

Issue 42 (December 2012, Volume 7, Number 6)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 42 (December 2012, Volume 7, Number 6)

In this last issue of 2012, we look at Susan Meehan and the discussion with author Kazuo Ishiguro. Then, Tim Holm rediscovers a pilgrimmage made by the maverick Japanese photographer Daido Moriyama in the early 1970s, applying his photographic chiaroscuro to a tour of Tono in North-Eastern Japan. Another highlight of our December issue is Sir Hugh’s exploration of a famous potter’s first love in The Etchings of Bernard Leach.

Issue 41 (October 2012, Volume 7, Number 5)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 41 (October 2012, Volume 7, Number 5)

This issue focuses on the young people of Japanese society through the eyes of both foreigners and the Japanese themselves.

Issue 40 (August 2012, Volume 7, Number 4)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 40 (August 2012, Volume 7, Number 4)

In this issue we focus on various aspects of the Japanese movie industry with some stimulating reviews of recent books.

Issue 39 (June 2012, Volume 7, Number 3)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 39 (June 2012, Volume 7, Number 3)

In this issue we focus on the Meiji era, which spanned the period September 1868 to July 1912.

Issue 38 (April 2012, Volume 7, Number 2)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 38 (April 2012, Volume 7, Number 2)

To mark the first year anniversary of the devastating 11 March 2011 Tohoku Earthquake, now also known as the Great East Japan Earthquake, we devote this issue to looking at its aftermath.