The Japan Society
Publications Books & Journals

The Japan Society Review

The Japan Society Review is published on a bimonthly basis, both online and printed (members are entitled to receive a copy by post). Since the starting of the publication in 2006, each issue covers a selection of Japan-related books and films, as well as theatre and stage productions, tv series and exhibitions. Its purpose is to inform, entertain and encourage readers to explore the works for themselves.

The Japan Society Review is possible thanks to the work of volunteers who dedicated their time and expertise to help us to promote the learning and understanding of Japanese culture and society.

Issue 57 (June 2015, Volume 10, Number 3)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 57 (June 2015, Volume 10, Number 3)

In the issue of June 2015, we look at the realities of post-war Japan with three book reviews. We also review two films involving comedy and one book on Japanese art museums.

Issue 56 (April 2015, Volume 10, Number 2)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 56 (April 2015, Volume 10, Number 2)

This issue of the Japan Society Review centres on Japanese modern history, politics, national security and international relations. On a lighter note, we also include two book reviews dealing with friendship and poetry.

Issue 55 (February 2015, Volume 10, Number 1)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 55 (February 2015, Volume 10, Number 1)

In this issue we engage with various Japanese forms of art, including music, paintings, objects and dance.

Issue 54 (December 2014, Volume 9, Number 6)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 54 (December 2014, Volume 9, Number 6)

In this issue of The Japan Society Review we cross genres, reviewing a film, two books, a performance and conducting an interview with a violinist.

Issue 53 (October 2014, Volume 9, Number 5)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 53 (October 2014, Volume 9, Number 5)

In issue 53, we again provide a wide range of reviews across many aspects of Japanese culture. We consider an overview of Japan from a broad range of perspectives.

Issue 52 (August 2014, Volume 9, Number 4)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 52 (August 2014, Volume 9, Number 4)

In this issue of the Japan Society Review, we focus on five books and a film.

Issue 51 (June 2014, Volume 9, Number 3)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 51 (June 2014, Volume 9, Number 3)

In this third issue of 2014, we are pleased to bring a broad range of reviews on a diverse selection of topics and genres to the fore.

Issue 50 (April 2014, Volume 9, Number 2)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 50 (April 2014, Volume 9, Number 2)

In this issue we are in a self-reflective mood with our main theme actually being our regular reviewers and the Japan Society Review itself. To mark the occasion, we have an article by each of our current key contributors with pieces mainly focusing on contemporary issues.

Issue 49 (February 2014, Volume 9, Number 1)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 49 (February 2014, Volume 9, Number 1)

In this first issue of 2014, we focus on Japan’s wartime Thai- Burma Railway which has recently been in the spotlight following the release of the internationally acclaimed movie The Railway Man.

Issue 48 (December 2013, Volume 8, Number 6)

Issues (PDF)

Issue 48 (December 2013, Volume 8, Number 6)

While preparing our final issue of 2013, it was with deep sadness that we learnt of the passing of Sir John Whitehead, distinguished former British Ambassador to Japan (1986 to 1992) and much respected former chairman of the Japan Society (2000 to 2006). We dedicate this issue to his memory.